The Grove Junior School
Dark Lane
Tel:01582 760031
October 11 2020


Web Admins


Our Governors have a common interest in supporting the school in giving our pupils the best Key Stage educational opportunities at The Grove Junior School.  

The Governing Board comprises a member from the Local Authority, the Headteacher, staff, parent, and co-opted governors. Governors have equal rights to participate in the work of the Governing Board and to state their own views, but always work together and are bound by the collective decisions of the team. Governors other than the Headteacher are appointed or elected to serve a four-year term of office.  


Sheila Smith – Chair of Governors 

David Summers – Vice Chair of Governors 

Marianne Mudd – Chair of School Improvement Committee   

Philippa Waterman – Chair of Resources Committee 

Sarah Murray    

Lara Parish-Macklin 

Beth Ashton  

Jo Hamilton-Watson   

Eleanor Oxborrow 

Nicola Coad 

Jack Carr

Paula Lindores

Nigel Smart

Claudia Rochford (Associate Governor)

Clare Bellwood (Associate Governor)

Contact us 

To contact the governors, please use the Chair of Governor’s confidential email address: 

What do Governors do?  

Governors do not manage the school – that is the role of the Headteacher. The Governors aim to support her in doing this but do not shy away from being a ‘critical friend’ and asking searching questions.  

Governors are responsible for ensuring the clarity of vision, ethos & strategic direction of the school and for supporting the Headteacher and her staff in achieving that vision. The Governing Board holds the leadership of the school to account for the educational performance of the school and its children. Governors also have responsibility for appointing the Headteacher, managing the school’s budget and making sure that money is well spent. In addition to these statutory responsibilities, Governors monitor the impact of policies and do a wide variety of other things, either through formal committee activity or through personal involvement with the day-to-day life of the school.  

The Governing Board may also be called upon to consider complaints from parents.  

Whilst the role is a voluntary one, the Governing Board expects all Governors and prospective Governors to be aware of the time commitment required to be an effective Governor. Primarily, that commitment arises from:  

  • Attending meetings of the Governing Board 
  • Membership of either the School Improvement (SIC) or Resources Committees  
  • Undertaking training courses relevant to the role of a governor  
  • Having a particular area of responsibility such as finance, personnel, safeguarding  
  • Having a link to a particular area of teaching and learning or to a school development plan priority 

Resources Committee  

The Resources Committee deals with everything to do with the human, physical and financial resources of the school and:  

  • is responsible for proposing the annual budget for approval by the Governing Board and for the ongoing monitoring of management accounts.  
  • prepares the responses to the Schools Financial Value Standard questionnaire that must be submitted to Herts County Council each year.  
  • considers all aspects of Health and Safety and site management.  
  • approves the staffing structure and assists with some areas of recruitment.  

The School Business Manager attends all meetings.  

The current members of the committee are:  

  • Philippa Waterman– Committee Chair  
  • Lorna Urquhart – Headteacher   
  • Dave Summers  
  • Sheila Smith  
  • Nicola Coad 
  • Jack Carr
  • Paula Lindores

School Improvement Committee  

This committee focuses on Children and the Curriculum.  

This is the forum for detailed discussion of children’s progress and attainment and delivery of the curriculum but also deals with pupil behaviour and wellbeing.  

The current members of the committee are:  

  • Marianne Mudd – Committee Chair  
  • Lorna Urquhart – Headteacher   
  • Sarah Murray  
  • Beth Ashton  
  • Lara Parish-Macklin  
  • Jo Hamilton- Watson  
  • Eleanor Oxborrow 
  • Nigel Smart
  • Claudia Rochford (Associate Governor)
  • Clare Bellwood (Associate Governor)

Statutory information about governors  

 Information about Governors, their terms of office, any pecuniary and material interests declared and a record of their attendance at meetings is published annually at the end of the academic year. 

Click here for the details for the academic year 2022/23.